ARC Review: Stealing Rose by Monica Murphy

Stealing Rose (The Fowler Sisters, #2) Publication Date: March 3, 2015
Book 2 of the Fowler Sisters Serie


Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—the second novel in New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy's sizzling series about three powerhouse sisters and the men who would have their hearts.

People say the youngest child has it easy, but nothing can be further from the truth. Unlike my two sisters, Violet and Lily, I'm never in the limelight. I just work my butt off for Fleur Cosmetics and get little to no thanks for it. I've been pushed too far one too many times, and I'm finally brave enough to do something about it.

Maybe my newfound courage has something to do with the amazing pink and white diamond necklace I wear to the party in Cannes. The instant those dazzling heirloom jewels touch my skin, they excite some deep, aching need inside. And when that guy—that totally gorgeous guy—locks eyes with me, I know this nice girl is going to be naughty.

For once it's my turn. My turn to say no to my father, to outshine my sisters, to walk away from it all—straight into the arms of a mysterious stranger. But what if Caden is much more than I bargained for? Sure, he makes me feel sexy and free in a way I never have before, but there's something else I can't quite place—something dangerous. Maybe our “chance” meeting wasn't so random. Maybe he was looking for me for a reason. Whatever his motive, there's no going back now.

And maybe I don't want to.

My Review: ★★★★★ 5 stars!

I enjoyed STEALING ROSE so much more than the first book. It's because Pilar wasn't there! hahahaha! Just kidding, though. I guess it's because it no longer had the burden of introducing the characters and the business environment they're in, so Monica Murphy just dived headfirst into the story.

I really like Rose! So far she's the Monica Murphy heroine that I could relate to the most. In spite of being born into privilege and wealth, she still wants to prove her worth to her family and to their empire. To be useful and needed is important to her. She craves validation. I also think she truly craves romance and love, not just success in her career.

Caden is kind of a carefree man, and it’s mostly because of his chosen means of living. He doesn't really put down roots. I see him as the type who keeps a duffel bag filled with clothes, and can fly out of the city, or the country even, in a moment's notice. Now here is a major plot element... he starts out with mercenary intentions towards Rose. Monica Murphy wrote him in such a way though that it was so easy to like him. Even before he decided to take the high road, I could already see him as a great match for Rose.

The story and the narration also felt more solid. Pilar, whom I consider the antagonist of the entire series, was mentioned several times. Of course (I am totally rolling my eyes right now, lol). I liked it better this way though, her not being physically present in the story, but you can really still feel her annoying existence. Pilar is one of those characters who can get all the attention and would suck all happy thoughts out of your head the moment she appears on the page. So, I really liked that 90% of the book is focused on in Rose and Caden's relationship.

Another thing I loved: We see more of the eldest Fowler sister, Lily! She had a minor role to play here, but it was great knowing more about how she is with her sisters. In spite of the picture she is painted as (rebel, doesn’t care about the family business, the typical black sheep), she really does care about the welfare of her sisters. I am all the more excited for her book!

STEALING ROSE is a fun, quick read that will go well on a lazy, afternoon weekend. The narration flows smoothly. In true Monica Murphy fashion, the characters' thoughts and backstories are clearly laid out in just a few sentences and paragraphs. She still hasn’t lost that touch, which I love! It was enjoyable reading the buildup of the romance, and I think many fellow contemporary romance lovers will think so too.

Buy Links

Stealing Rose by Monica Murphy

My thanks to the publisher for granting me an ARC via NetGalley.



Post a Comment

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Shoot me a comment below.